Latest updates

Check the Important info page for latest updates! (22 December 2022)

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

FIFA approve the new CONCACAF qualifying format

According to various articles in the Mexican and Central American press (see this Univision article for instance), FIFA have approved the new CONCACAF 2014 World Cup qualifying format.

It's interesting to know the draw for CONCACAF will take place on May 31st, 2011 in Zurich and will use the May 2011 FIFA ranking to seed the teams.

The Brazilians have announced the main draw will take place on July 31st, 2010 in Brazil (see this O Globo article - thanks beachesl)

Also, there some info regarding the spots - both CONCACAF and CONMEBOL will keep their quota (3.5 and 4.5).

About me:

Christian, husband, father x 3, programmer, Romanian. Started the blog in March 2007. Quit in April 2018. You can find me on LinkedIn.


  1. Thanks for the info, Edgar.

    About keeping the number of spots, do you have a link to where that info was reported? Also, do you know if CONMEBOL's 4.5 includes Brazil's host spot? (Is it 3.5+1, or 4.5+1?)


  2. Alex, there are many articles in the South American press. See this one for instance.

    The 4.5 doesn't include the host spot, thus CONMEBOL could have 6 teams at the 2014 finals.

  3. Thanks, Edgar. I think the 4.5+1 is the appropriate allocation. Now let's see if FIFA stick to Blatter's word!