Latest updates

Check the Important info page for latest updates! (20 June 2024)

Friday, December 4, 2009

AFC Asian Cup 2011: Seeding for the final draw

The draw for the final tournament will take place in April 2010 in Doha, Qatar. The hosts will be seeded.

Already qualified:

Qatar - hosts
Iraq - 2007 AFC Asian Cup winner
Saudi Arabia - 2007 AFC Asian Cup runner-up
Korea Republic - 2007 AFC Asian Cup runner-up

India - 2008 AFC Challenge Cup winner

Uzbekistan - Group C qualifier
Syria - Group D qualifier

Going by the current standings, these are the teams most likely to join the 7 qualifiers:

Bahrain and Japan from Group A
Kuwait and Australia from Group B
United Arab Emirates from Group C
China from Group D
Iran and Singapore from Group E
Korea DPR from the 2010 AFC Challenge Cup

In 2004, teams were seeded using results from Lebanon 2000. In 2007, teams were seeded using the FIFA ranking.

Seeding based on the results of 2007 AFC Asian Cup:

Pot 1: Qatar, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Korea Republic
Pot 2: Japan, Australia, Iran, Uzbekistan
Pot 3: China, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Korea DPR
Pot 4: Syria, Kuwait, Singapore, India

If AFC choose the March 2010 FIFA ranking to seed the teams, the interim pots would look like this:

Pot 1: Qatar, Iraq, Australia, Japan
Pot 2: Korea Republic, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Iran
Pot 3: Uzbekistan, China, Kuwait, Syria
Pot 4: Korea DPR, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, India

About me:

Christian, husband, father x 3, programmer, Romanian. Started the blog in March 2007. Quit in April 2018. You can find me on LinkedIn.

1 comment:

  1. this will be the final seedings according to the FIFA Rankings as Wednesday March 3rd 2010 before the final round of qualification matches for the 2011 AFC Asian Cup Finals in Doha Qatar as follows: if iraq get kicked out of the tournement as expected due to their fifa suspension for government interference which is stil current as of today thursday march 4th our time then turkmenistan goes to the tournement at iraqi's expense Pot 1: Qatar (Hosts), Australia, Japan, and South Korea, Pot 2: Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Iran, and Uzbekistan, Pot 3: China, Kuwait, Syria, and North Korea, Pot 4: Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Turkmenistan, and India,