Latest updates

Check the Important info page for latest updates! (20 June 2024)

Friday, April 23, 2010

AFC Asian Cup 2011: Official seeding for the final draw

All participants will be seeded using the final ranking at the AFC Asian Cup 2007. That includes the 2007 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers.

Pot 1: Qatar (hosts), Iraq (champions), Saudi Arabia, Korea Republic
Pot 2: Japan, Australia, Iran, Uzbekistan
Pot 3: China, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Jordan
Pot 4: Syria, Kuwait, India, Korea DPR

Source: AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2011™ Finals draw mechanics

The draw takes places today in Doha at 19:00 (local time).

In my final draw post, I seeded the last 5 teams (that didn't play in the 2007 final tournament) using the March 2010 FIFA ranking, with Kuwait taking the last place in the third pot.

However, AFC have seeded them based on their performance in the 2007 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers: Jordan (10p), Syria (8p), Kuwait (4p), India (0p), Korea DPR (didn't participate).

Since these 5 teams didn't participate in the 2007 final tournament, I think it would have been better to seed them using the 2011 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers: Syria (14p), Kuwait (9p), Jordan (8p), Korea DPR (2010 AFC Challenge Cup winners), India (2008 AFC Challenge Cup winners).

About me:

Christian, husband, father x 3, programmer, Romanian. Started the blog in March 2007. Quit in April 2018. You can find me on LinkedIn.

No comments:

Post a Comment