Latest updates

Check the Important info page for latest updates! (4 April 2024)

Friday, October 21, 2011

2014 FIFA World Cup seeding: CAF (July vs. October 2011)

This is what actually happened using the July 2011 FIFA ranking to seed the teams.

Pot 1: Mozambique, Congo DR, Togo, Liberia, Tanzania, Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Namibia, Burundi, Madagascar
Pot 2: Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Chad, Swaziland, Comoros, Lesotho, Eritrea, Somalia, Djibouti, Mauritius, Seychelles, Sao Tome e Principe

Seychelles - Kenya
Guinea-Bissau - Togo
Djibouti - Namibia
Mauritius - Liberia
Comoros - Mozambique
Equatorial Guinea - Madagascar
Somalia - Ethiopia
Lesotho - Burundi
Eritrea - Rwanda
Swaziland - Congo DR
Sao Tome e Principe - Congo
Chad - Tanzania

Pot 1: Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Cameroon, Algeria, Tunisia
Pot 2: Gabon, Libya, Morocco, Guinea, Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, Uganda, Mali, Cape Verde Islands
Pot 3: Benin, Zimbabwe, Central African Republic, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Niger, Angola, Gambia

Group A: South Africa, Botswana, Central African Republic, Somalia/Ethiopia
Group B: Tunisia, Cape Verde Islands, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea/Madagascar
Group C: Côte d'Ivoire, Morocco, Gambia, Chad/Tanzania
Group D: Ghana, Zambia, Sudan, Lesotho/Burundi
Group E: Burkina Faso, Gabon, Niger, Sao Tome e Principe/Congo
Group F: Nigeria, Malawi, Seychelles/Kenya, Djibouti/Namibia
Group G: Egypt, Guinea, Zimbabwe, Comoros/Mozambique
Group H: Algeria, Mali, Benin, Eritrea/Rwanda
Group I: Cameroon, Libya, Guinea-Bissau/Togo, Swaziland/Congo DR
Group J: Senegal, Uganda, Angola, Mauritius/Liberia

What would have happened had FIFA postponed the draw to October?

Morocco would have replaced Tunisia in Pot 1.
Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe and Angola would have replaced Malawi, Uganda and Botswana in Pot 2.
Togo and Mozambique would have replaced Benin and Central African Republic in Pot 3.
Chad would have replaced Madagascar in Pot 4.

Pot 1: Rwanda, Benin, Liberia, Central African Republic, Namibia, Tanzania, Congo DR, Kenya, Ethiopia, Congo, Burundi, Chad
Pot 2: Equatorial Guinea, Lesotho, Madagascar, Guinea-Bissau, Swaziland, Seychelles, Comoros, Mauritius, Eritrea, Somalia, Djibouti, Sao Tome e Principe

Djibouti - Congo DR
Equatorial Guinea - Liberia
Eritrea - Congo
Somalia - Central African Republic
Swaziland - Rwanda
Lesotho - Chad
Mauritius - Ethiopia
Seychelles - Burundi
Comoros - Kenya
Guinea-Bissau - Benin
Sao Tome e Principe - Tanzania
Madagascar - Namibia

Pot 1: Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Algeria, Senegal, Nigeria, Cameroon, South Africa, Burkina Faso, Morocco
Pot 2: Tunisia, Sierra Leone, Libya, Cape Verde Islands, Gabon, Mali, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Zambia, Angola
Pot 3: Malawi, Uganda, Botswana, Togo, Niger, Sudan, Mozambique, Gambia

Group A: Cameroon, Gabon, Botswana, Mauritius/Ethiopia
Group B: Morocco, Angola, Togo, Lesotho/Chad
Group C: Côte d'Ivoire, Libya, Gambia, Madagascar/Namibia
Group D: Ghana, Zimbabwe, Niger, Seychelles/Burundi
Group E: Algeria, Tunisia, Sudan, Sao Tome e Principe/Tanzania
Group F: Senegal, Mali, Djibouti/Congo DR, Eritrea/Congo
Group G: Egypt, Cape Verde Islands, Uganda, Swaziland/Rwanda
Group H: Burkina Faso, Zambia, Malawi, Comoros/Kenya
Group I: South Africa, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea/Liberia, Guinea-Bissau/Benin
Group J: Cameroon, Guinea, Mozambique, Somalia/Central African Republic

About me:

Christian, husband, father x 3, programmer, Romanian. Started the blog in March 2007. Quit in April 2018. You can find me on LinkedIn.

1 comment:

  1. did you know that by June 2012 Gibraltar will be a uefa member once again

    well that's what gfa said